Ms. Heather Allison Sparks

My Best Friend: Ms. Heather Allison Sparks.

If I had to describe Heather Sparks in 5 words or less, they would be:

Heather has a wall of shoes.

If you were to judge by this phrase alone, you might imagine Heather to own many shoes because she loves a fashion. Although true,  (I don’t know who owns more wedges, Heather or the Bedford cheese shop) its literal intent explains that Heather needs many different shoes to walk her  many paths of passion.

She is one of the most versatile people I know that can do, act, say, wear, make or be anything. Heather has been studying French twice a week, on and off, for the past 2 years, and recently she’s enrolled in classes to actually speak the language. (She’s spending most of May in Paris, for the a physical exam). Whether it’s taking Hoola Hoop lessons in the east village for 2 hours each week, performing stand up comedy on a Sunday afternoon or writing  pharmaceutical campaign launch materials, Heather Sparks wears a lot of shoes.

Heather has been studying French twice a week, on and off, for the past 2 years, and recently she’s enrolled in classes to actually speak the language.

She also happens to live true the stylish stiletto strutting woman you initially imagined. In fact, her  Fall 2011 wardrobe was inspired by “the bad Sandra D in Greece”, which required wearing high waisted disco pants, rolled sleeve wovens tied at the waist and a black

Olivier Theyskens leather jacket the entire season.  Oh and don’t let me get started on the hair, which can be summarized in three words: Georgia May Jagger.

As she was literally packing for her trip to Italy, where she is now  touring with her brother’s band, she entertains a few questions about her style:

Describe your style in 5 words.

Classic Lolita vintage rock priss

 What do you do for work?

I write about drugs for doctors.

What project are you currently working on?

Global launch of 2 diabetes meters. I’m pretty cool?

How would you describe an average Saturday night?

There’s no average Saturday. Lately it’s all about recovering from Tuesday, right?

Whats are you most looking forward to this summer?

Returning in June from Europe with a French accent…on my arm.

So how is your French?

Pal mal. (Not bad).

What have you been listening too lately?

Miriam Makeba, she’s an amazing African francophone singer from the 60s-70s. I’m kinda off new music right now.

Do you have a fave fashion era?

It’s hard to say. Maybe the most influential fashion moment for me was first seeing Olivia Newton John’s 70s reinterpretation of the 50s bad girl on my sister’s Greece album. Mules and high waisted skinnies.

Who’s your fave new designer?

I love Jerome Dreyfuss and Isabel Marant. They’re married! Isabel’s entire collection this summer is killing me and Jerome’s bags are so casual and chic. I can barely afford any of their things but slobber on their windows quite a bit. I’ll be stopping into their Paris shops all too soon.

 Do you have any icons?

Kate Moss and Georgia-May Jagger. When I shop, I ask myself if and how they would wear something. It’s really helped me be more selective!

You have an affection for mixology- what’s your newest drink or punch?

OMFG. The rhubarb daiquiris at Rucola in Boerum Hill, Bk blow my mind. They taste like my grandmother’s rhubarb crisp… With a naughty twist.

 Jarvis cocker ’96 or Mick Jaegger ’76?

Yes please.

 Moma or Met?

MOMA with a membership, the Met when I feel like I want to time travel.

Bedford Ave. or Broome St.?

Ha, they’re both the pits and paradise.

Describe your wall of shoes.

I don’t have any closets in my apartment but there are 2 built-in bookcases. One is for books and the other’s for my shoes. I like keeping them lined up, tidy and precise. I think of it like my armory.

—-Tis True  If Heather were to move from my world, her replacement wouldn’t have big shoes to fill, rather many shoes to fill.

Leave a Reply

